Imran's personal blog

February 29, 2012

Random things

Filed under: Uncategorized — ipeerbhai @ 7:23 pm

Hi All,

Some random things for today.

I got into Law School! I’ll be starting this summer. It’s a very scary time for me.
I’m not sure I want to be a lawyer. I may or may not be good at it. I also am worried about the things lawyers do. I want to be an ethical lawyer.  Yet the money is in things like family law, criminal law, and patents.  All things that are rife with legal abuse.

I’ve given up on my makerslide based printer.  I did get it printing, and it is an easy build.  But it has issues — and it’s  not better/easier than the Quantumn ORD bot, MakiBox, or ultimaker.  I don’t want to get into the business of making/selling printers that don’t improve upon the RepRap.

I’ve built a ShapeOko.  This is a CNC mill.  I don’t have the electronics working yet, though. Just Frame complete at this time.  It’s a makerslide based design, and I’ve been wanting a mill for a while.  I also hate my Prsua at this point, and I hope to combine printing into the ShapeOko.  I can’t wait for the day I take a sledgehammer to that Prusa.

I’ve ordered a MakiBox.  This is a 3d printer, but portable.  It uses m4 rods, is fully enclosed, and has a very low thermal inertia extruder.  It’s still under design right now, but I really like the idea of a fully portable printer.  Something so small and light, that you can just shove it into your backpack and walk around with it.

I’ve designed and placed a part on Thingiverse.  It’s a simple spool holder clip.  Just screw it to 80/20, add in a 608 bearing and appropriate washers, and viola.  I’ve printed it and am using it now to hold my spool in place.  This clip also can be used to mount two pieces of t-slot rail together.

I’m working on a new linear bearing system.  It’s like MakerSlide, but easier to ship, and needs cheaper bearings.  It comes in one length, and you either put multiple together for longer rails, or you cut it for shorter rails.  It cuts with a dremel or hacksaw.  When I finish my CNC mill, it’s one of the things I’d like to make.

I’m learning Haskell.  This is so I can play with Implicitcad.  I already use SCAD for my drawings, and love it.  Open source, programmable, C-like syntax.  But it’s missing too many language concepts.  I really think SCAD should be more like C++.  I like the idea of saying something like:
Thing.width = 100;
Thing.length = 200;
if ( Thing.Equals(Thing2) ) …

Of course, Haskell is completely the opposite of C++.  But that makes it cool to me, as it may be a better though model for CAD work.

I found this article on how to make ring-tones.  Random, but I want a perm-a-link

Law school has me worried about money.  I’m looking for some part-time consulting gigs.  If you know of any, please send them my way!

Thanks, and keep your stick on the ice.

–Imran

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

